View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Feb 24, 2018 11:45 pm

Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
battle forged, Stratagems and Command Points 

So I'm new to 8th, and never played 6 or 7, so I'm not really sure how this works.

As far as I can tell, your army is battle forged if it is made up ENTIRELY of detachments? (With the number of detachments allowed being restricted based on the point limit during organized events?)
- Your opponent's army doesn't HAVE to be battle forged just because your army is right?
- not being battle forged means you just don't get to use stratagems? So you trade off the use of stratagems in exchange for the ability to make any army composition you want?
- is it generally expected that your army be battle forged if you take it to a game store to play against randos?
- do you HAVE to be battle forged for tournament style play?

So once you have a battle forged army you can start accumulating command points as far as I can tell. So you get 3 CP just for being battle forged, and then you get more CP based off what detachments you use?
- so I can take an outrider detachment and still dump a full three troop units in there with it still counting as outriders? (or alternatively I can take a battalion detachment and throw in three fast attack and still have it be an outrider detachment)
- BUT, if I wanted to take an outrider AND and Battalion detachment I'd need 3 total HQ units?
- most of these detachments have the restriction of all the units being from the same faction. Can I take two patrol detachments from two different factions and still be battle forged? Can I take an orc patrol detachment and a guard battalion detachment and still be battle forged? Can I take a guardsman Battalion detachment and an Eldar Flyer in an auxiliary support detachment and just eat the -1 CP in exchange for having some eldar unit as support?