View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Feb 25, 2018 9:51 pm

Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
2000pts, IG Mechanized/Armored VS Blood Angels 

My first real game in years, and boy was I rusty.

I've posted my army list in the army list section.

I'm not good at remembering taking pics, so this is the only image you'll get. My opponent, Damon, gets the first turn moves the one unit he had deployed from the start; a Mastodon.

The Mastodon is a huge transport, T9, W30 and a 2+ save, as well as void shields (4+ or maybe 5+ invul save, IIRC). It held most of his units, save for a squad of jumping marines that deployed via deepstrike with [insert character name] on turn one.
His Mastodon also had lots of guns, even though most were not present on the model - a melta array, two las cannons, some flamers and a sky fire array.

He rightfully assumed I would not be able to kill it on turn one and kept his troops inside it. The melta array was not in range of anything (just 12" range), but the skyfire-thing wiped out my las cannon squad on turn one, and his las cannons scored some wounds on my two Vanquishers. Note to self: cover totally doesn't work like before, and that was not a smart place to deploy my las cannons!
His jump marines came in 9" from my command tank (the regular command tank, not Pask), and by rolling 9 on their charge dice they were able to assault it, scoring quite a few wounds.

My turn one: I moved my mechanized squads up either flank, and advanced my Leman Russ squadron (they deploy as a unit, but function as separate vehicled once the game starts).
The command Vanquisher backed away from his jump marines, so I could shoot at them.

Pask's Vanquisher fired at the Mastodon, to no effect. I set a trend early on for rolling ones when firing my main guns, and getting lots of hits with my pintle and coaxial stubbers and bolters.