View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Feb 25, 2018 1:36 am

Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
2000pts Steel Legion - Semi-Competitive (C&C Please) 

Getting back into 40k having not played regularly since 5th edition. My previous army was a drop-troops Imperial Guard force, but I'm a better painter now than I was then and I'd like to start an entirely new army from scratch. I've always liked the Steel Legion and wanted to do a mechanized force, so here's my best crack at a 2000 point list.

Some design notes:
I'd like the list to be strong and somewhat competitive, but I don't want to end up with something optimized for gaming at the expense of aesthetics or the overall character of the force. Here's my list of semi-arbitrary restrictions:

-No allies. I'd like to keep the list selected purely from the choices in Codex Astra Militarum. I'm more than cool with Psykers, Stormtroopers etc, I'm just not sure what the current meta is and don't want to have to take obligatory Grey Knight allies, even if I lose every game for failing to do so.

-No Steel Legion squads in Tauroxes. I understand that Chimeras are less points efficient than when I last played, but... come on, it's not Steel Legion without the Chimeras. I am okay with other units in Tauroxes, I just want the army to have at least 3 Chimera.

-I'm trying to keep the list as WYSIWYG as possible. This is difficult as Steel Legion lacks models for mortars, flamers, meltas, and autocannons. I'm willing to do some conversion, but I don't particularly want to convert 9 model models to carry flamers, for example.